When it rains, it pours.

When it rains, it pours, and I am in the midst of a mild thunderstorm right now. Not a monsoon, at least, but today is definitely on my list in the “not to be repeated” category.  Some things that happened today were outside of my control, and my own responsibility lies in my reaction. I was pretty good at thinking on my feet, though, so no thunderstorms on this account. I actually had a rather brilliant idea today!

Other things were the consequences of earlier decisions. Yesterday’s decisions. Yesterday morning was full, my brain was fried, and I should have stopped there.

Still, other pieces involve incidences I was not involved in. Ones involving my son. While these incidences were outside of my control (I was not with him at school today, after all), I have found that nothing is outside of my control when he is involved. (I do hope I don’t make my student’s parents feel this way.) Worse still is the fact that I received a call, and an email, from the program director. His teacher was not at school today, but I didn’t get a call from the social worker (She likes to call me!), or the principal, or anyone who was in the building. I am hearing, and reading, this story from a third-party source.

Tonight, I will take my son to therapy, and read another chapter in the novel I haven’t picked up in nearly a week. Tonight, I will fold and put away the laundry, and then have a glass of wine. Tonight, I will be in bed by 10:00. (a lofty goal)

Tomorrow, I will deal with my son’s program director, armed with my list of acceptable reactionary statements. Tomorrow, I will carry through with that brilliant idea I had today.  Tomorrow, will be good.

Leave a Reply

